Classic SeaCraft Community  

Go Back   Classic SeaCraft Community > General Discussion > Performance

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #31  
Old 04-14-2019, 04:43 PM
striper56 striper56 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Niantic CT
Posts: 89
Default

kmoose, I have the AP.
I have mentioned to the installer the info that I have received from other Seacraft owners with the same boat and motor. Before they raise the motor they want to try a 4 blade. They measured the distance from the bottom of the haul to the bottom of the AV plate which is one inch. Which is where they say it should be.

I appreciate your input.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 04-14-2019, 08:08 PM
Briguy Briguy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Sarasota, Fl
Posts: 977
Default

My 23 CC was installed with a 20.5"Suzuki prop. Lightly loaded I hit 5850rpm's and 51mph. MPG is unreal at 27mph like 3.60-3.7. My issue was offshore in rough weather at 20mph she was trying to stay on plane at 2900 rpm's and wallowed a bit.

I switched to a 18.5" factory watergrip prop. RPM's came up to 6000. Speed dropped to 49.5mph. I have a bimini top, radar arch and Garmin radar. I also have a bracket which I believe adds 2mph. Now my offshore performance is 3300 rpm's at about 20mph and overall better low end performance and I have bottom paint.

Do not try a 4 blade. Raise that bitch THREE holes!
__________________
Capt. Brian

Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 04-14-2019, 09:32 PM
FLexpat FLexpat is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Park City UT & around FL
Posts: 569
Default

Seacraft hulls need the AV plate high to get clear of the water. BEFORE you go playing around with props, just look over the transom while you are at cruise - if the AV plate is not clear then raise it. Repeat until it is clear. The 23 likes 2-3inches. I have talked with guys running them as much as 3.5 up without a bracket. The 'right' prop with the drive buried is probably not the right prop with the drive in the right place. A buried drive will cost you fuel and speed.
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 04-14-2019, 10:18 PM
Snookerd's Avatar
Snookerd Snookerd is offline
Founding Father
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Bradenton, FL.
Posts: 2,502
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by striper56 View Post
Before they raise the motor they want to try a 4 blade. They measured the distance from the bottom of the haul to the bottom of the AV plate which is one inch. Which is where they say it should be.

I appreciate your input.

Thanks
You have a 25” notched transom, correct? I have the same motor (250/300ap 25”), same transom mount. Don’t mess with the props until you get the height correct. It is a waste of your time. As I said 3 weeks ago, raise the motor - all the way up. How many 23 Sceptres has your guy dialed in?? If your guy knows what he is doing, then he just doesn’t want to make the effort. My concern is that he doesn’t know what he is doing. You’ve got 6 people who know what they are talking about telling you to raise the motor. I had to do the same thing with my Suzuki 300AP and just like Flexpat told you tonight, I am also up at least 3 - 3.5 inches above the keel. Don’t let your guy keep leading you down the wrong path, tell him what you want, it’s your time and trouble. Do it. Good luck.
__________________



Snookerd

Last edited by Snookerd; 04-15-2019 at 07:30 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 04-15-2019, 12:40 PM
kmoose's Avatar
kmoose kmoose is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Ocala, Florida
Posts: 1,559
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by striper56 View Post
kmoose, I have the AP.
I have mentioned to the installer the info that I have received from other Seacraft owners with the same boat and motor. Before they raise the motor they want to try a 4 blade. They measured the distance from the bottom of the haul to the bottom of the AV plate which is one inch. Which is where they say it should be.

I appreciate your input.

Thanks
Sounds like they don't want to take the time to raise the motor. The AP motors have low water pick up for a reason. It would take them 15 minutes to do it, put an 18.5 on it and call it a day. I don't understand why the dealer is being so reluctant but you are being very patient with him.
__________________
1974 23 Tsunami w/ 300 Suzuki
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 07-02-2019, 07:22 AM
striper56 striper56 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Niantic CT
Posts: 89
Default

I finally got the motors raised up as high as it could go. I have a 16X18 3 blade prop on her.

Here are the results

RPMs SPEED NM/GAL
3500 21 2.7

4000 28 2.6

4500 32 2.4

5000 34 2.1

WOT
6000 41 1.4

I have 2 batteries on a shelf just forward of the motor where they had the live well. I was thinking about moving the batteries up front. Either between the seats in the storage locker or in the cabin to try to get the bow down and keep the water from coming up through the scuppers when people are standing in the back.
If I move the batteries I would need around 20 feet per wire. What size wire should I use to make the run?

Thanks
Ken
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 07-05-2019, 07:54 PM
Briguy Briguy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Sarasota, Fl
Posts: 977
Default

Something is WAY wrong. You are getting close to 1 mpg LESS than other owners.
At 3500 I’m doing 28 mpg or so. I can’t tell you what’s wrong but something is very wrong. You should have another owner that has a 250 or 300 ride on your boat.
__________________
Capt. Brian

Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 07-08-2019, 07:37 AM
striper56 striper56 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Niantic CT
Posts: 89
Default

Thanks Capt. Brian,
I'm not sure what to do next. Is that 2.8 mpg or 28 mph? I do think the bow is riding high.

Ken
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 07-08-2019, 09:05 AM
kmoose's Avatar
kmoose kmoose is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Ocala, Florida
Posts: 1,559
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by striper56 View Post
I finally got the motors raised up as high as it could go. I have a 16X18 3 blade prop on her.

Here are the results

RPMs SPEED NM/GAL
3500 21 2.7

4000 28 2.6

4500 32 2.4

5000 34 2.1

WOT
6000 41 1.4

I have 2 batteries on a shelf just forward of the motor where they had the live well. I was thinking about moving the batteries up front. Either between the seats in the storage locker or in the cabin to try to get the bow down and keep the water from coming up through the scuppers when people are standing in the back.
If I move the batteries I would need around 20 feet per wire. What size wire should I use to make the run?

Thanks
Ken
Ken, you are pretty close. Your fuel burn is in the ballpark as you are using knots and nmpg where others use statute. Take some pictures of your set up looking from the back at prop level and from the side and post them up.
__________________
1974 23 Tsunami w/ 300 Suzuki
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 07-08-2019, 08:57 PM
striper56 striper56 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Niantic CT
Posts: 89
Default

Kmoose
The speed is in MPH. If you need more photos let me know.
Thanks for the help.
Ken
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20190708_203031.jpg (71.3 KB, 68 views)
File Type: jpg 20190708_202550.jpg (81.6 KB, 67 views)
File Type: jpg 20190708_202525.jpg (93.7 KB, 67 views)
File Type: jpg 20190708_202517.jpg (91.5 KB, 67 views)
File Type: jpg 20190708_202407.jpg (83.8 KB, 68 views)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
All original content 2003-2018 ClassicSeacraft